header image
Home arrow SME Support System – Regional Benchmarking arrow Kriti (GR)
Kriti (Crete) Print E-mail

The island of Crete is divided in four prefectures, the largest of which is Heraklion prefecture with 50% of the region's population. The city of Heraklion is also the capital and the administrative centre of the island. Chania is the second largest city and its prefecture hosts 25% of the population of Crete.
Crete is a peripheral region, including both rural and urban areas, and has a polycentric structure with four main cities: Herakion, Chania, Rethymnon and Aghios Nikolaos. The majority of the population and all the main cities are located along Crete's north coast; as a result, the north axis of the island is more developed in comparison to the south.
Regarding the spatial dispersion of business, there are two main business centres: the Industrial Area of Heraklion and the Small Industries Park in Chania. Apart from these two areas, business is dispersed all over the island, without a clear pattern of concentration.

For further information, please read Kriti's Benchmarking report:

You may also contact:

Regional Co-ordinator for Kriti
John Vourdoubas

Incubator of New Enterprises of Chania (INEC)